Mailinglist Archive: opensuse (2071 mails)

< Previous Next >
Re: [opensuse] Daylight Savings Change
  • From: J Sloan <joe@xxxxxxxxxx>
  • Date: Fri, 09 Feb 2007 19:54:10 -0800
  • Message-id: <45CD41E2.6020704@xxxxxxxxxx>


russbucket wrote:

> I was wondering what it all meant also. I don't think you have the patch. I
> assume the first two are start dates and next two end dates. Not sure why
> there is a couple minutes difference in the times.
> I also use the NTP service so I assume it will automatically correct the time.
> Here's mine:
> US/Pacific Sun Mar 11 09:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 01:59:59 2007 PST
> isdst=0 gmtoff=-28800
> US/Pacific Sun Mar 11 10:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 03:00:00 2007 PDT
> isdst=1 gmtoff=-25200
> US/Pacific Sun Nov 4 08:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Nov 4 01:59:59 2007 PDT
> isdst=1 gmtoff=-25200
> US/Pacific Sun Nov 4 09:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Nov 4 01:00:00 2007 PST
> isdst=0 gmtoff=-28800
> And I know DST starts in March this year and goes past Halloween.I am on
> OpenSUSE 10.2

ntp deals only with UTC. timezone and DST translations are the responsibility
of the ntp client, not the server. Your output above is correct.

Joe
--
To unsubscribe, e-mail: opensuse+unsubscribe@xxxxxxxxxxxx
For additional commands, e-mail: opensuse+help@xxxxxxxxxxxx

< Previous Next >
Follow Ups