Mailinglist Archive: yast-devel (77 mails)

< Previous Next >
Re: [yast-devel] Style Guide - Overview Dialog
  • From: Johannes Meixner <jsmeix@xxxxxxx>
  • Date: Fri, 16 Jan 2009 14:34:10 +0100 (CET)
  • Message-id: <alpine.LNX.2.00.0901161309340.10377@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>

Hello,

On Jan 16 12:48 Martin Schmidkunz wrote (shortened):
* Having an activated "Back" button and an activated "Cancel" button in
an one screen dialog (e.g. overview) does not make any sense because the
visible consequences of the buttons are the same: I click on the button,
the module disappears and no changes are preserved. Secondly why should
I have a "Back" button when there is no next screen I can go to?

It seems you mix up the special case "overview dialog"
with any other "one screen dialog".

The "overview dialog" has the meaning to be the very first dialog.
Therefore in the special case of the very first dialog
there exists nothing whereto go back in the workflow
so that for the special case of the very first dialog
a button with back functionality and a button with
abort functionality have the same effect which is:
Leave the whole module.

In contrast any other "one screen dialog" could be nested
somewhere deep in the workflow structure of the module
where it makes a big difference if there is a button
with back functionality which goes back in the workflow
to a point which makes sense in the particular case
(usually the "overview dialog" but it could be any other dialog)
compared to a button which has abort functionality
so that the whole module is closed.


The text line:
"Cancel - Closes the module and returns to the overview" was modified by
me, Johannes.
I did that in agreement with you as a result of your comment, that when
having an opening a module and the user presses "Cancel" there is no
overview the user can return to.

There is a misunderstanding.

I think it would help to fix the confusion to make
a strict difference between the very first dialog
and any other "one screen dialog".

Note that the "overview dialog" is the very first dialog
only after the module was started but not after the user
came back to the "overview dialog" when finishing a particular
part of the workflow - i.e. when he did:
"overview dialog" -> "one screen dialog" -> "overview dialog"


The old version
"Cancel - Closes the window and returns to the overview."
works well because the meaning is a back functionality
and it does not matter very much when there is no longer
an abort functionality because from anywhere in the module
[Cancel] -> [Cancel] -> [Cancel] -> [Cancel] -> [Cancel] -> ...
would eventually leave the module (without having any
settings applied in the system).

In contrast the new version
"Cancel - If the user presses Cancel the module is closed."
does not work well because the meaning is an immediate
abort functionality of the whole module.
But there is no button which provides a back functionality.
Therefore when the user selected wrong stuff anywhere
in the module there is nothing except the abort
functionality of the whole module where he can only
discard all his changes.
I.e. there is no longer a functionality to get out
only from a current part of the workflow
(e.g. get out only from one "one screen dialog")
and discard only the changes of this current part
(i.e. there is no longer a back functionality).


Kind Regards
Johannes Meixner
--
SUSE LINUX Products GmbH, Maxfeldstrasse 5, 90409 Nuernberg, Germany
AG Nuernberg, HRB 16746, GF: Markus Rex
--
To unsubscribe, e-mail: yast-devel+unsubscribe@xxxxxxxxxxxx
For additional commands, e-mail: yast-devel+help@xxxxxxxxxxxx

< Previous Next >