Mailinglist Archive: opensuse-features (41 mails)

< Previous Next >
[openFATE 314594] Drop ISDN support
Feature changed by: Stefan Behlert (sbehlert)
Feature #314594, revision 20
Title: Drop ISDN support

Requested by: Thorsten Kukuk (kukuk)
Partner organization: openSUSE.org

Description:
ISDN package still depends on SuSEconfig, there is nobody who is able
to adjust the code, ISDN is getting less and less important. We need a
decission very fast, since this either blocks work for SLE12 or we
would need to waste quite some not available resources.

References:
Packages: -i4l-base, -i4lfirm, -i4l-isdnlog, -i4l-vbox, -capi4linux, -
susevbox, yast2-network

Relations:
- Drop ISDN configuration from yast2-network (feature/id: 308681)
- Get rid of SuSEconfig.isdn (feature/id: 313543)

Documentation Impact:
RN and documentation
Administration Guide

+ Test Case:
+ To verify that in SLE-12 there is actually no longer the package
+ i4lbase you could do the following:
+ Install SLES-12 and SLED-12 and then run "zypper -v installi4lbase "
+ and check that it is not available in our official repositories.
+ Checking for that package should be enough

Business case (Partner benefit):
openSUSE.org: Porting ISDN code to SLE12/current openSUSE release and
integrate it in the planned new installer would bind a lot of resources
and made some code very complicated.

Discussion:
#1: Andreas Jaeger (a_jaeger) (2012-11-07 08:50:23)
i4l-base does not use SuSEconfig directly any more: Thu Oct 18 16:28:46
UTC 2012 - max@xxxxxxxx
- Make SuSEconfig.isdn a standalone script and rename/move it to
/etc/sysconfig/isdn/scripts/postprocess.isdn .

#2: Joachim Werner (joachimwerner) (2013-07-31 12:28:32)
Thorsten, this request is about dropping all ISDN support on SLE 12,
not just the YaST configuration, right?
Before deciding on this we need to understand whether there is a
business case for SLES-based software-defined ISDN phone exchanges that
would need built-in ISDN support (vs. ISDN support being added by the
partner shipping the phone exchange server) and that can not be covered
by SLES 11 for the remainder of ISDN's lifecycle.
Do we have any supporting facts?

#5: Ludwig Nussel (lnussel) (2013-08-07 10:42:19)
What's the status of this? i4l-base is still in Factory

#7: Reinhard Max (rmax) (2013-08-07 13:08:08) (reply to #5)
I thought this is only about excluding it from the SLE12 media, so that
we don't have to support it for a long time, but I wouldn't drop it
from Factory as long as it works and doesn't need much effort to keep
it that way.

#9: Stefan Behlert (sbehlert) (2013-08-13 12:59:45)
Lukas, assigning to you as Eng.Mgr. as yast2-network at least is
affected. There might be more yast-dependencies, but I hope not.

#10: Jiri Srain (jsrain) (2013-08-13 13:11:23) (reply to #9)
Stefan, we have a separate feature for dropping ISDN support from YaST
(I think we have even two).

#11: Stefan Behlert (sbehlert) (2013-08-13 13:24:15) (reply to #10)
Argh. ok, then I'll move that back to me fro the droping part. Thanks,
missed that.




--
openSUSE Feature:
https://features.opensuse.org/314594

< Previous Next >
This Thread
  • No further messages