Mailinglist Archive: opensuse (2071 mails)

< Previous Next >
Re: [opensuse] Daylight Savings Change
  • From: JB <yonaton@xxxxxxxxxxxx>
  • Date: Thu, 15 Feb 2007 16:39:00 -0600
  • Message-id: <200702151639.00989.yonaton@xxxxxxxxxxxx>
On Thursday 15 February 2007 10:38, Hirayama, Pat wrote:


> > On Friday February 9 2007 16:21, JB wrote:
> > > On Friday 09 February 2007 16:46, Hirayama, Pat wrote:
>
> <snip>
>
> > > > To verify that I had to fix DST:
> > > > * zdump -v US/Pacific | grep 2007
> > >
> > > What's all that stuff mean after one does the above command (mine
>
> I did
>
> > > with US/Central)? How do I know if I have to fix DST in my 9.3
>
> system?
>
> > > Here's the result of the above command:
> > >
> > > US/Central Sun Apr 1 07:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Apr 1 01:59:59 2007
>
> CST isdst=0 gmtoff=-21600
>
> > > US/Central Sun Apr 1 08:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Apr 1 03:00:00 2007
>
> CDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-18000
>
> > > US/Central Sun Oct 28 06:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Oct 28 01:59:59 2007
>
> CDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-18000
>
> > > US/Central Sun Oct 28 07:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Oct 28 01:00:00 2007
>
> CST isdst=0 gmtoff=-21600
>
> OK, these are the times/dates that Standard Time / Daylight Savings Time
> are set to start/end in 2007 for the Central time zone in the US. These
> numbers indicate that your system is not patched ... It is still
> following the old rules. In other words, Sun Apr 1 1:59:59 will be
> followed by Sun Apr 1 3:00:00. Once your system has been corrected, you
> should get the following output:
>
> US/Central Sun Mar 11 07:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 01:59:59 2007 CST
> isdst=0 gmtoff=-21600
> US/Central Sun Mar 11 08:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 03:00:00 2007 CDT
> isdst=1 gmtoff=-18000
> US/Central Sun Nov 4 06:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Nov 4 01:59:59 2007 CDT
> isdst=1 gmtoff=-18000
> US/Central Sun Nov 4 07:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Nov 4 01:00:00 2007 CST
> isdst=0 gmtoff=-21600

Thanks, Pat. I did the instructions you put up on this list, and it seems to
have worked. Good job, bud.
--
To unsubscribe, e-mail: opensuse+unsubscribe@xxxxxxxxxxxx
For additional commands, e-mail: opensuse+help@xxxxxxxxxxxx

< Previous Next >
Follow Ups