Mailinglist Archive: opensuse (2071 mails)

< Previous Next >
RE: [opensuse] Daylight Savings Change
  • From: "Hirayama, Pat" <phirayam@xxxxxxxxx>
  • Date: Thu, 15 Feb 2007 08:38:04 -0800
  • Message-id: <7409BB17EBB80D458805B0A8029FBC3EAAC627@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>

> -----Original Message-----
> From: russbucket [mailto:russbucket@xxxxxxx]
> Sent: Friday, February 09, 2007 7:48 PM
> To: opensuse@xxxxxxxxxxxx
> Subject: Re: [opensuse] Daylight Savings Change
>
> On Friday February 9 2007 16:21, JB wrote:
> > On Friday 09 February 2007 16:46, Hirayama, Pat wrote:

<snip>
> > >
> > > To verify that I had to fix DST:
> > > * zdump -v US/Pacific | grep 2007
> >
> > What's all that stuff mean after one does the above command (mine
I did
> > with US/Central)? How do I know if I have to fix DST in my 9.3
system?
> > Here's the result of the above command:
> >
> > US/Central Sun Apr 1 07:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Apr 1 01:59:59 2007
CST isdst=0 gmtoff=-21600
> > US/Central Sun Apr 1 08:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Apr 1 03:00:00 2007
CDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-18000
> > US/Central Sun Oct 28 06:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Oct 28 01:59:59 2007
CDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-18000
> > US/Central Sun Oct 28 07:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Oct 28 01:00:00 2007
CST isdst=0 gmtoff=-21600

OK, these are the times/dates that Standard Time / Daylight Savings Time
are set to start/end in 2007 for the Central time zone in the US. These
numbers indicate that your system is not patched ... It is still
following the old rules. In other words, Sun Apr 1 1:59:59 will be
followed by Sun Apr 1 3:00:00. Once your system has been corrected, you
should get the following output:

US/Central Sun Mar 11 07:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 01:59:59 2007 CST
isdst=0 gmtoff=-21600
US/Central Sun Mar 11 08:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 03:00:00 2007 CDT
isdst=1 gmtoff=-18000
US/Central Sun Nov 4 06:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Nov 4 01:59:59 2007 CDT
isdst=1 gmtoff=-18000
US/Central Sun Nov 4 07:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Nov 4 01:00:00 2007 CST
isdst=0 gmtoff=-21600

Thanks,

-p

--
Pat Hirayama
IT / Server Operations
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
phirayam@xxxxxxxxx

--
To unsubscribe, e-mail: opensuse+unsubscribe@xxxxxxxxxxxx
For additional commands, e-mail: opensuse+help@xxxxxxxxxxxx

< Previous Next >
Follow Ups