Mailinglist Archive: opensuse (2071 mails)

< Previous Next >
Re: [opensuse] Daylight Savings Change
  • From: russbucket <russbucket@xxxxxxx>
  • Date: Fri, 9 Feb 2007 19:48:24 -0800
  • Message-id: <200702091948.24860.russbucket@xxxxxxx>
On Friday February 9 2007 16:21, JB wrote:
> On Friday 09 February 2007 16:46, Hirayama, Pat wrote:
>
> <snip>
>
> > So, I adapted the following instructions for Canada to fix DST on 8.2
> > and 9.x systems on my US systems.
> >
> > https://secure-support.novell.com/KanisaPlatform/Publishing/112/3615274_
> > f.SAL_Public.html
> >
> > Basically, I did the following:
> >
> > To verify that I had to fix DST:
> > * zdump -v US/Pacific | grep 2007
>
> What's all that stuff mean after one does the above command (mine I did
> with US/Central)? How do I know if I have to fix DST in my 9.3 system?
> Here's the result of the above command:
>
> US/Central Sun Apr 1 07:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Apr 1 01:59:59 2007 CST
> isdst=0 gmtoff=-21600
> US/Central Sun Apr 1 08:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Apr 1 03:00:00 2007 CDT
> isdst=1 gmtoff=-18000
> US/Central Sun Oct 28 06:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Oct 28 01:59:59 2007 CDT
> isdst=1 gmtoff=-18000
> US/Central Sun Oct 28 07:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Oct 28 01:00:00 2007 CST
> isdst=0 gmtoff=-21600

I was wondering what it all meant also. I don't think you have the patch. I
assume the first two are start dates and next two end dates. Not sure why
there is a couple minutes difference in the times.
I also use the NTP service so I assume it will automatically correct the time.
Here's mine:
US/Pacific Sun Mar 11 09:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 01:59:59 2007 PST
isdst=0 gmtoff=-28800
US/Pacific Sun Mar 11 10:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 03:00:00 2007 PDT
isdst=1 gmtoff=-25200
US/Pacific Sun Nov 4 08:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Nov 4 01:59:59 2007 PDT
isdst=1 gmtoff=-25200
US/Pacific Sun Nov 4 09:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Nov 4 01:00:00 2007 PST
isdst=0 gmtoff=-28800
And I know DST starts in March this year and goes past Halloween.I am on
OpenSUSE 10.2
--
Russ
--
To unsubscribe, e-mail: opensuse+unsubscribe@xxxxxxxxxxxx
For additional commands, e-mail: opensuse+help@xxxxxxxxxxxx

< Previous Next >
Follow Ups
References