Mailinglist Archive: opensuse (2071 mails)

< Previous Next >
Re: [opensuse] Daylight Savings Change
  • From: J Sloan <joe@xxxxxxxxxx>
  • Date: Wed, 31 Jan 2007 22:37:22 -0800
  • Message-id: <45C18AA2.4000200@xxxxxxxxxx>


Darryl Gregorash wrote:
> On 2007-01-31 23:35, Marcus Meissner wrote:
>> <snip>
>>
>> Is there any specific problem? Because timezone should be fine as-is.
>
> Please fire up any 9.3 system, and check the date of time changes in
> 2007 for any US timezone. Then compare that with the date of the time
> change for any 10.x version (I presume they have all been updated to
> reflect the recently announced change to daylight time in the US -- PS,
> I believe Canada, for reasons which should be obvious, has followed
> suit, but don't quote me on this, because sometimes we like to be
> stubborn about our differences with the USA :-)

More specifically: (substitute your local TZ for PST8PDT as applicable)

root@matisyahu:~> zdump -v PST8PDT | grep 2007
PST8PDT Sun Mar 11 09:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 01:59:59 2007 PST isdst=0
gmtoff=-28800
PST8PDT Sun Mar 11 10:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 03:00:00 2007 PDT isdst=1
gmtoff=-25200
PST8PDT Sun Nov 4 08:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Nov 4 01:59:59 2007 PDT isdst=1
gmtoff=-25200
PST8PDT Sun Nov 4 09:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Nov 4 01:00:00 2007 PST isdst=0
gmtoff=-28800

Joe
--
To unsubscribe, e-mail: opensuse+unsubscribe@xxxxxxxxxxxx
For additional commands, e-mail: opensuse+help@xxxxxxxxxxxx

< Previous Next >