Mailinglist Archive: opensuse (5130 mails)

< Previous Next >
Re: [SLE] SPAM: strange spam
  • From: Paul Cartwright <paul_tbot@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
  • Date: Thu, 4 May 2006 06:41:04 -0400
  • Message-id: <200605040641.05126.paul_tbot@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
On Wed May 3 2006 12:50 am, Doug McGarrett wrote:
> Copy to my ISP--maybe they can get rid of it. 

the way to do it is to view all headers ( in kmail anyway)
view-headers-all
then look for the first IP in brackets before the words HELO, like your
message:
Received: from [195.135.221.131] ([195.135.221.131]:38920 "HELO
lists.suse.com")
        by lmg17.affinity.com with SMTP id S460265AbWECEuV;

then go to Arin's WHOIS:
http://www.arin.net/whois/

and plug it in and see who the owner is:
in your case it shows as a RIPE site ( European), so you have to go to
the RIPE whois site:
http://www.ripe.net/whois
in the case of this list, the owner is suse.de:
person: Christian Deckelmann
address: SuSE Linux AG
address: Deutschherrenstrasse 15-19
address: D-90429 Nuernberg
phone: +49 911 74053-0
fax-no: +49 911 7417755
e-mail: hostmaster@xxxxxxx

but normally there will be an ABUSE site listed for a domain, and you
can send them an email, and if you live in the US you can also copy
the federal abuse site: "uce@ftc. gov" <uce@xxxxxxx>
--
Paul Cartwright
Registered Linux user # 367800

< Previous Next >
Follow Ups
References