Mailinglist Archive: opensuse (2441 mails)

< Previous Next >
Re: [SLE] What the heck is this?!
  • From: Richard Atcheson <ratcheson@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
  • Date: Sat, 18 Jun 2005 20:02:04 -0500
  • Message-id: <200506182002.04464.ratcheson@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
On Saturday 18 June 2005 11:40 pm, Ciro Iriarte wrote:
> 2005/6/18, Ciro Iriarte <cyruspy@xxxxxxxxx>:
> > 2005/6/18, Carlos E. R. <robin1.listas@xxxxxxxxxx>:
> > > -----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
> > > Hash: SHA1
> > >
> > > The Saturday 2005-06-18 at 06:02 -0400, Louis Richards wrote:
> > > > > This e-mail is encrypted and could be infected with a virus. As
> > > > > Anti-virus software
> > > > > does not have the capability to effectively scan encrypted mail,
> > > > > the message has been automatically quarantined.
> > > >
> > > > A bank that does not accept encrypted/signed emails.
> > >
> > > It does not mention "signed" emails, just enrypted; thus it is not
> > > doing its job correctly, as a signed email can be scanned by antivirus
> > > software. A badly configured/programmed filter.
> > >
> > > > As this message is not signed, the person with the above address
> > > > should receive it. Hopefully, he will become aware of the problem now
> > > > and either correct the settings on the mail server, be removed, or
> > > > unsubscribe.
> > >
> > > I hope he does :-}
> > >
> > > (I'm also receving those bounces, of course. Not a big worry, but I
> > > might end rejecting them in the end).
> > >
> > > - --
> > > Cheers,
> > > Carlos Robinson
> > > -----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
> > > Version: GnuPG v1.4.0 (GNU/Linux)
> > > Comment: Made with pgp4pine 1.76
> > >
> > > iD8DBQFCtHkCtTMYHG2NR9URAiopAJ9JQhgX2SQEYAcxUcjdz9586TPu5wCfXcU1
> > > 5soFOvwEEXGGOe5z74PnLm8=
> > > =F4As
> > > -----END PGP SIGNATURE-----
> > >
> > >
> > > --
> > > Check the headers for your unsubscription address
> > > For additional commands send e-mail to suse-linux-e-help@xxxxxxxx
> > > Also check the archives at http://lists.suse.com
> > > Please read the FAQs: suse-linux-e-faq@xxxxxxxx
> >
> > I received something similar (?!)
> > -----------------------------------------------------
> > Deutsche Bank
> > <CandidaBrody@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx> a mí
> > Dear Deutsche Bank Customer,
> >
> > This email was sent by the Deutsche Bank server to verify your e-mail
> > address. You must complete this process by
> > clicking on the link below and entering in the small window your
> > Deutsche Bank online access details. This is done for
> > your protection - because some of our members no longer have access to
> > their email addresses and we must verify it.
> > To verify your e-mail address, click on the link below:
> >
> > http://www.deutsche-bank.de/the_id_goes_here
> > -------------------------------------------------------
> >
It's one of the most popular scams on the net, called phishing. They try to
get you to go to their site, a fake one made to look like the real thing,
then get you to give them your account numbers and passwords so they can
drain your account or charge up your credit card. Ignore them or forward it,
along with full headers, to the REAL site, usually at abuse@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Never, ever, respond by clicking on anything in the email. Legitimate sites
never send such a message to customers.

RA

< Previous Next >