Mailinglist Archive: opensuse (2441 mails)
| < Previous | Next > |
Re: [SLE] What the heck is this?!
- From: Ciro Iriarte <cyruspy@xxxxxxxxx>
- Date: Sun, 19 Jun 2005 03:01:56 -0400
- Message-id: <a998a01405061900012ca86c48@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
2005/6/18, Richard Atcheson <ratcheson@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>:
> On Saturday 18 June 2005 11:40 pm, Ciro Iriarte wrote:
> > 2005/6/18, Ciro Iriarte <cyruspy@xxxxxxxxx>:
> > > 2005/6/18, Carlos E. R. <robin1.listas@xxxxxxxxxx>:
> > > > -----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
> > > > Hash: SHA1
> > > >
> > > > The Saturday 2005-06-18 at 06:02 -0400, Louis Richards wrote:
> > > > > > This e-mail is encrypted and could be infected with a virus. As
> > > > > > Anti-virus software
> > > > > > does not have the capability to effectively scan encrypted mail,
> > > > > > the message has been automatically quarantined.
> > > > >
> > > > > A bank that does not accept encrypted/signed emails.
> > > >
> > > > It does not mention "signed" emails, just enrypted; thus it is not
> > > > doing its job correctly, as a signed email can be scanned by antivirus
> > > > software. A badly configured/programmed filter.
> > > >
> > > > > As this message is not signed, the person with the above address
> > > > > should receive it. Hopefully, he will become aware of the problem now
> > > > > and either correct the settings on the mail server, be removed, or
> > > > > unsubscribe.
> > > >
> > > > I hope he does :-}
> > > >
> > > > (I'm also receving those bounces, of course. Not a big worry, but I
> > > > might end rejecting them in the end).
> > > >
> > > > - --
> > > > Cheers,
> > > > Carlos Robinson
> > > > -----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
> > > > Version: GnuPG v1.4.0 (GNU/Linux)
> > > > Comment: Made with pgp4pine 1.76
> > > >
> > > > iD8DBQFCtHkCtTMYHG2NR9URAiopAJ9JQhgX2SQEYAcxUcjdz9586TPu5wCfXcU1
> > > > 5soFOvwEEXGGOe5z74PnLm8=
> > > > =F4As
> > > > -----END PGP SIGNATURE-----
> > > >
> > > >
> > > > --
> > > > Check the headers for your unsubscription address
> > > > For additional commands send e-mail to suse-linux-e-help@xxxxxxxx
> > > > Also check the archives at http://lists.suse.com
> > > > Please read the FAQs: suse-linux-e-faq@xxxxxxxx
> > >
> > > I received something similar (?!)
> > > -----------------------------------------------------
> > > Deutsche Bank
> > > <CandidaBrody@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx> a mí
> > > Dear Deutsche Bank Customer,
> > >
> > > This email was sent by the Deutsche Bank server to verify your e-mail
> > > address. You must complete this process by
> > > clicking on the link below and entering in the small window your
> > > Deutsche Bank online access details. This is done for
> > > your protection - because some of our members no longer have access to
> > > their email addresses and we must verify it.
> > > To verify your e-mail address, click on the link below:
> > >
> > > http://www.deutsche-bank.de/the_id_goes_here
> > > -------------------------------------------------------
> > >
> It's one of the most popular scams on the net, called phishing. They try to
> get you to go to their site, a fake one made to look like the real thing,
> then get you to give them your account numbers and passwords so they can
> drain your account or charge up your credit card. Ignore them or forward it,
> along with full headers, to the REAL site, usually at abuse@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
>
> Never, ever, respond by clicking on anything in the email. Legitimate sites
> never send such a message to customers.
>
> RA
>
> --
> Check the headers for your unsubscription address
> For additional commands send e-mail to suse-linux-e-help@xxxxxxxx
> Also check the archives at http://lists.suse.com
> Please read the FAQs: suse-linux-e-faq@xxxxxxxx
>
>
I know, just mentioned it because Greg said something about scanning
mails ("Maybe mailmarshal@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx is used by SuSE to scan
incoming mail."), and thought i could be some kind of white list.
Anyway, didn't click on the link, and already reported it as phishing
with the gmail tool......
CI.-
> On Saturday 18 June 2005 11:40 pm, Ciro Iriarte wrote:
> > 2005/6/18, Ciro Iriarte <cyruspy@xxxxxxxxx>:
> > > 2005/6/18, Carlos E. R. <robin1.listas@xxxxxxxxxx>:
> > > > -----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
> > > > Hash: SHA1
> > > >
> > > > The Saturday 2005-06-18 at 06:02 -0400, Louis Richards wrote:
> > > > > > This e-mail is encrypted and could be infected with a virus. As
> > > > > > Anti-virus software
> > > > > > does not have the capability to effectively scan encrypted mail,
> > > > > > the message has been automatically quarantined.
> > > > >
> > > > > A bank that does not accept encrypted/signed emails.
> > > >
> > > > It does not mention "signed" emails, just enrypted; thus it is not
> > > > doing its job correctly, as a signed email can be scanned by antivirus
> > > > software. A badly configured/programmed filter.
> > > >
> > > > > As this message is not signed, the person with the above address
> > > > > should receive it. Hopefully, he will become aware of the problem now
> > > > > and either correct the settings on the mail server, be removed, or
> > > > > unsubscribe.
> > > >
> > > > I hope he does :-}
> > > >
> > > > (I'm also receving those bounces, of course. Not a big worry, but I
> > > > might end rejecting them in the end).
> > > >
> > > > - --
> > > > Cheers,
> > > > Carlos Robinson
> > > > -----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
> > > > Version: GnuPG v1.4.0 (GNU/Linux)
> > > > Comment: Made with pgp4pine 1.76
> > > >
> > > > iD8DBQFCtHkCtTMYHG2NR9URAiopAJ9JQhgX2SQEYAcxUcjdz9586TPu5wCfXcU1
> > > > 5soFOvwEEXGGOe5z74PnLm8=
> > > > =F4As
> > > > -----END PGP SIGNATURE-----
> > > >
> > > >
> > > > --
> > > > Check the headers for your unsubscription address
> > > > For additional commands send e-mail to suse-linux-e-help@xxxxxxxx
> > > > Also check the archives at http://lists.suse.com
> > > > Please read the FAQs: suse-linux-e-faq@xxxxxxxx
> > >
> > > I received something similar (?!)
> > > -----------------------------------------------------
> > > Deutsche Bank
> > > <CandidaBrody@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx> a mí
> > > Dear Deutsche Bank Customer,
> > >
> > > This email was sent by the Deutsche Bank server to verify your e-mail
> > > address. You must complete this process by
> > > clicking on the link below and entering in the small window your
> > > Deutsche Bank online access details. This is done for
> > > your protection - because some of our members no longer have access to
> > > their email addresses and we must verify it.
> > > To verify your e-mail address, click on the link below:
> > >
> > > http://www.deutsche-bank.de/the_id_goes_here
> > > -------------------------------------------------------
> > >
> It's one of the most popular scams on the net, called phishing. They try to
> get you to go to their site, a fake one made to look like the real thing,
> then get you to give them your account numbers and passwords so they can
> drain your account or charge up your credit card. Ignore them or forward it,
> along with full headers, to the REAL site, usually at abuse@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
>
> Never, ever, respond by clicking on anything in the email. Legitimate sites
> never send such a message to customers.
>
> RA
>
> --
> Check the headers for your unsubscription address
> For additional commands send e-mail to suse-linux-e-help@xxxxxxxx
> Also check the archives at http://lists.suse.com
> Please read the FAQs: suse-linux-e-faq@xxxxxxxx
>
>
I know, just mentioned it because Greg said something about scanning
mails ("Maybe mailmarshal@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx is used by SuSE to scan
incoming mail."), and thought i could be some kind of white list.
Anyway, didn't click on the link, and already reported it as phishing
with the gmail tool......
CI.-
| < Previous | Next > |