Mailinglist Archive: opensuse (3470 mails)

< Previous Next >
Re: [SLE] Does anyone know anything about abuse.nl.easynet.net????
  • From: "Paul Varner" <suse-linux-e@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
  • Date: Fri, 5 Sep 2003 09:38:25 -0500
  • Message-id: <012a01c373bb$5dff5900$91ced70a@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Tom Nielsen wrote:
> I couldn't find out how it got on there other than since it was part
> of
> the Verizon DSL network, they assumed that anyone sending email
> directly
> must be a spammer. Shoot first and ask questions later. The guys that
> emailed me had a rather nasty tone to their email. I'll I'm doing is
> finding out how to correct the problem and they're coping a 'tude.
> Beats
> me.
>
> Thanks for your feedback.

Tom,

You are not going to win that battle. It is their server and their rules.
You are on the blocklist for the same reason that I am, there are way too
many unsecured machines on the Verizon DSL network that are being abused to
send spam, etc. The easiest way to get around the blocks is to configure
your outgoing mail to go through Verizon's mail server. I don't remember
the exact steps, but I was able to configure it using YaST2 without any
issues. The other way around the blocklist is to pay Verizon for a business
class connection and have then configure DNS and rDNS (The reverse DNS is
actually the most important one) to point to the neuro-logic.com domain.

Regards,
Paul


< Previous Next >
References